Being Told “The Child Will Not Die”

I was reading about a Lucas Leonard who was beaten to death at a church, by his parents and other church members, for not confessing his sins.   There is a proverb, 23:13 that claims you can beat a child and he will not die.  I often wonder if folks are taking this proverb to mean that you can beat a child as much as you like, and so long as one does it in a Christian manner, the child will not die.

Becoming Worldly

Last week my Mom told me something that shook me to my core. She said “your father said if you disciplined a child according to the bible, they would not die.” Then she told me she recognized the Pearls’ book “To Train Up A Child.”

It all got brought up because my 10 year old brother likes to give lots of hugs of his own accord, and my Mom and I were talking about how nice that is, how sweet of a boy he is, and she said she wished her older sons, now 25 and 22, were as loving and kind to her as her youngest. This started one heck of a conversation.

I reminded my Mom that her youngest had never been told to pull down his pants and bend over the bed, knowing he’d end up with welts on the behind. He had never known what it…

View original post 2,072 more words

About bem02

I like to paint, draw, bead and craft. I have been doing pottery as well. Attempting to work two low paying part time jobs, while taking care of mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

